Captains of the Premier Ship


Category: Tag:


Thousands of men of all ages have donned the Tipperary senior hurling jersy down through the generations. But only twenty – one of them have hoisted the spoils of All -Ireland victory as the premier team in the land.nnnnTipperary, the Premier County, has certainly played its part in the creation, development and enhancement of the game of hurling. The men who led their twenty six All Ireland title winning teams have gone down in legend as true Captains of the Premier Ship.nnnnFrom Thurles’ Jim Stapleton in 1887 – Tipperary’s first¬† – to Mullinahone’s Eoin Kelly in 2010 –¬† Tipperary’s last, for now – this is the story of Tipperary’s All Ireland winning senior hurling captains – a compelling tale of triumph and achievement, a unique insight into the psyche of winners.nnnnFor Tipperary people, it is a celebration of success and a reminder of just why the title ‘Premier County’ was bestowed upon their kin.